He understands what my tears are saying

When I was a young guy, I always seemed to have the words I needed for public prayer. These days, the feelings stirring within me are so deep I can’t even find the words for private prayer, much less public.

Romans 8:26-27 tells me the Holy Spirit prays for me when I can’t find the words. As if that wasn’t wonderful enough, the verses also tell me that the Father and the Spirit already know my heart, and that when I don’t even know where to begin, the Spirit goes ahead and prays for me in harmony with God’s own will!

So when I pray for my son … my daughter and her family … my precious parents … my sweet bride … our family members and wonderful friends — when words won’t come, I don’t struggle for them. I just let the feelings well up and pour out. I quiet myself before the One who knows what I want to say, even when I don’t.

Your Father doesn’t need to hear you speak. He understands what your tears are saying.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

