Trade in your broken life for a new one

I grew up in a very religious home. My father, in fact, was pastor of a Christian church. We attended all the church events, and I heard lots of clear Christian teaching from my earliest childhood.

As a child, I began to understand the awesomeness of God and his amazing goodness. I realized how perfect God is — and how none of us can ever hope to be as good as that. I began to understand that I was separated from God because he was so good and I was not.

I learned from the Bible that God sent Jesus to bridge that separation between himself and humanity. I learned that Jesus died to make it possible for me to be a friend of God, instead being alienated from him. I learned that Jesus offered me a gift of new life and freedom from my sin. I decided I wanted to accept that gift and become a follower of Jesus.

For many years now, I have grown in my relationship with God through Jesus. I have found a deep sense of meaning and God’s purpose for my life. Friendship with God has given me confidence that God has my best interests at heart — even when my circumstances are very hard. I find great joy when I experience God’s love and realize the Creator of the universe cares about me. Most importantly, my life has been completely transformed, and I have discovered that God’s power can take the brokenness of my life and make something beautiful out of it.

All of us struggle with brokenness in our own lives. There’s certainly no doubt that our whole world is badly broken. We try all sorts of superficial solutions to fix our problems, but those solutions fail because they don’t deal with the core issue: Our hearts and relationships are broken.

Jesus can heal your heart and relationships, if you are willing to admit your brokenness and need for a new life. You don’t have to earn this new life. All you have to do is trade in your broken life for the new one. Following Jesus brings healing, hope, and peace. If you need that in your life, you need him.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in salvation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

