Frustrated with my strength, or boasting about my weakness?

Paul writes:

I have received wonderful revelations from God. But to keep me from getting puffed up, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from getting proud. Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may work through me. Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:7-10 NLT)

Our nature is to serve God out of our strength. The paradox of the Kingdom is that Christ works best in our weakness. Are you working for God out of your strength and, as a result, frustrated with the results? Or are you looking to your weakness and how God wants to show himself strong?

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

