Hating ‘haters’ with a white-hot hatred

Jesus has given us the assignment of helping the Father’s lost children find their way back to him. We work hard at finding ways to explain the truth that people can understand. But don’t be fooled into believing the world is going to come around to Jesus’ way of thinking. The Enemy has put in place a mindset that vaccinates Western people against biblical truth.

People in the Western world think truth is whatever they believe it is. Even if a person believes “truths” that contradict each other, both are true because the person believes both.

If you ask the right questions, a person eventually will tell you: “It’s true because I believe it’s true.”

And if that person believes wrong is right, then you must be wrong when you say right is right.

Then the mindset compounds willful self-deception with arrogance:

“We despise people who are too stupid to recognize that their ‘wrong’ really is right. We don’t care what your Book says. The truth is obvious to us.”

Many people have decided that injustice is justice and that people who disagree are “haters.” And they hate “haters” with a white-hot hatred.

Jesus made sure he was very clear about the challenge we face:

I command you to love each other. When the world hates you, remember it hated me before it hated you. The world would love you if you belonged to it, but you don’t. I chose you to come out of the world, and so it hates you. Do you remember what I told you? ‘A servant is not greater than the master.’ Since they persecuted me, naturally they will persecute you. And if they had listened to me, they would listen to you! The people of the world will hate you because you belong to me, for they don’t know God who sent me. They would not be guilty if I had not come and spoken to them. But now they have no excuse for their sin. Anyone who hates me hates my Father, too. If I hadn’t done such miraculous signs among them that no one else could do, they would not be counted guilty. But as it is, they saw all that I did and yet hated both of us — me and my Father. This has fulfilled what the Scriptures said: ‘They hated me without cause.’ (John 15:17-25 NLT)

In a world where people hate the truth and love their lie, where people need the darkness because they can’t bear the truth the light reveals, followers of Jesus must make a point of loving.

We must make a point of loving each other.

We must make a point of loving our neighbors as ourselves.

We must make a point of loving our enemies.

We must love because they hate. We must love because Jesus loves.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Countercultural Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

