All I said was ‘Eat mor chikin’

So all I did was post on Facebook that I admired Chick-fil-A’s statement affirming traditional marriage and that I intended to eat there more often — and I get fussed at for making “polarizing” comments.

Really?

What’s polarizing about expressing my convictions and living my life in accordance with them? What’s polarizing about a privately owned business deciding to affirm its commitment to the truth expressed in Scripture? What’s polarizing is a culture that believes truth is merely opinion, then condemns as haters people who live by their own opinions, if those opinions don’t match those of the enlightened elite.

So I’m told I’m forgetting we’re all sinners and that Jesus didn’t isolate the Samaritan woman like the other Jews did. I’m told we’re doing a lot of damage by having such judgmental attitudes toward people who aren’t like us.

We do more damage by pretending that brokenness is wholeness, by not speaking the truth in love that all of us are broken, in different ways, that no brokenness is worse than another, that another person’s brokenness doesn’t justify my own. It isn’t loving to expect me to shut up and conform when lives are at stake. It isn’t loving to render to Caesar what is God’s. If the only way I can be accepted by someone else is to abandon my deeply held convictions to keep from hurting their feelings, then feelings will just have to be hurt.

Chick-fil-A’s statement is excellent: “The Chick-fil-A culture and service tradition in our restaurants is to treat every person with honor, dignity and respect – regardless of their belief, race, creed, sexual orientation or gender.” The problem is, treating others with respect isn’t enough. You also have to deny what you know is the truth.

No one here is forgetting we are all sinners. But there are some who deny the very idea of sin. How loving is it to smile and say, “You’re absolutely right. My bad. Jesus was just confused.”

Apparently my comments were so polarizing that they repelled the questioner’s comments right off the page. I hope I didn’t offend him, but the aggression in this so-called “culture war” is one-sided. As far as I’m concerned, we’re all Samaritans. The problem is, it isn’t enough to recognize we’re all sinners. What we’re being expected to do is affirm that we are sinners and others aren’t … or that living in willful sin is just fine by God … or that there’s really no such thing as sin anyway.

Jesus had some stern stuff to say about people who deny him before men.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in 'Gay marriage', Culture war, Current events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All I said was ‘Eat mor chikin’

  1. I suppose you do not think yourself disingenuous or bigoted. And perhaps you are the one in need of tolerance.

  2. kainos says:

    I don’t know about disingenuous; I certainly don’t consider myself original or creative. And there’s no doubt in my mind that I am in need of tolerance. I have spent a great deal of my life’s energy trying to become aware of prejudice and intolerance in myself, and rooting it out. The fact is, all of us are broken, all of us struggle in captivity of one sort or another, all of us need tolerance, acceptance, compassion, freedom, and healing. What saddens me is so many self-righteous people — religious and not — who think they are just fine the way they are, when anyone can see they are badly dysfunctional and trying to rationalize their own dysfunction by judging and condemning others. It’s tragic, considering freedom and healing are so readily available.

    Am I to gather from your comment that you see me as all three?

Leave a Reply

