Long overdue: the believer is a slave to Christ

I’m no fan of John MacArthur (Eric Redmond, more likely), but attention to the topic of the believer as slave is long overdue. You won’t get the obedience issue right until you understand your place in relationship to Christ.

You are a slave; better get your identity right

By Eric Redmond

I once had a church leader say to me – in public, no less! – that he was “offended” everytime I used the word “servant” to describe the role of a deacon. I told everyone present that “servant” is the language of Scripture (!) for the believer who follows his Lord in service. I simply appealed to Mk. 10:45 and parallel passages, and the terms of Paul’s epistles. I did not go into discussions about the Servant Songs in Isaiah or other theological discourse.

Looking back on that discussion – which did not change the mind of that church leader or many of his companions – I realize I was not forthright enough. I should have told him that I should have been calling all of us slaves.

Almost 20 years ago, a friend of mine told me that if we did not see that our basic identity as a Christian is that of a slave, we would not be able to serve Christ faithfully. He was right. We are slaves of Christ. If you are a believer, you had better get your identity right. I hope MacArthur’s new work, Slave: The Hidden Truth About Your Identity in Christ, will help us to do so.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Christian life, Servant/Slave and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

