“I’m not OK; you’re not OK”

Two groups of people frustrate me no end. You can find plenty of them in both the Church and the World.

First, there’s the “I’m OK; you’re OK” crowd. I’ll ignore your dysfunction, if you’ll ignore mine. We’ll hoist a glass and wish each other well as we journey down our personalized paths to self-destruction.

Second, there’s the “I’m OK; you’re not OK” crowd. Forget about me; let’s talk about you. I’ll look down my nose at you while you head down your path to self-destruction. I won’t offer you any help — and can’t, because I’m so crippled by my own self-satisfaction.

What we need is some realism: “I’m not OK; you’re not OK.” I’ll be a good enough friend to both love you and help you understand your brokenness; please do the same for me. Together, we’ll journey up the path toward healing and redemption.

Of course, there’s not much hope of seeing that happen in the world. That would be tantamount to everybody getting saved.

Come to think of it, that’s probably what it will take to see it in the Church too.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Christian life, Healing and redemption, Human brokenness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

