Why did I vote for McCain-Palin?

I’m a reluctant McCain supporter, but I couldn’t in good conscience vote for Obama. I’m not a single issue voter, but his support for late-term abortion and opposition to the Born Alive Infant Protection Act make my blood run cold. His cozy relationship with slumlords in Chicago tell me he really doesn’t care for poor children in ghettos. And I don’t believe government programs will solve any of the peace and justice issues we care about, but that will be his solution.

One term in the US Senate doesn’t begin to qualify him for this office. He isn’t where he is because of his remarkable ability to govern but because a handful of elites in the Democratic Party saw him as a charming, articulate, very telegenic candidate who can deliver scripted comments in a very believable manner.

I’d love to vote for a non-white candidate for president. I’d be delighted to cast my ballot for a JC Watts or someone whose values and commitments truly reflect God’s concern for marginalized people and realism about how transformation actually occurs in lives and communities. But Barack Obama is an old-fashioned big-government liberal. He won’t solve any of our problems.

I don’t know that McCain has any chance of beating Obama, but I believe groups like ACORN are helping Obama get positioned for a charge of election fraud and denying people the right to vote in case he loses. If the election doesn’t go to him, I expect the streets of our cities will be filled with protestors and charges of election stealing.

I can’t say there is a compelling reason why I am supporting McCain, apart from his extensive experience in the national government and his hard-as-nails attitude toward people who want to destroy America. But I feel like there are plenty of reasons why Obama shouldn’t be given the mind-boggling power of the highest office in the land.

If for no other reason, I voted for McCain because he picked a down-to-earth normal person like Sarah Palin as his running mate. Not that she’s eminently qualified to be president, but neither is Obama. And she understands what life is like for everyday people. Picking her as a running mate said to me that McCain understood my reservations about him and wanted to reassure me that he values our worldview.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Current events, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

