A New Year’s resolution worth keeping

Click for related story (AP Photo/Andrew Otto)Those poor souls in Denver – socked again with two feet of snow when they had only just started recovering from a blizzard that dumped a similar load on their Christmas plans.

Reminds me of a story.  8^)

I was living in Chicago, working in campus ministry and house-sitting for an airline pilot who had been temporarily reassigned. Snow was falling as I walked out of the office one afternoon. I was having dinner with my fiancée and her parents at their home, and by the end of the evening the snow was deep enough that I didn’t think I could get to my place, which was at the end of a very long private drive. My hosts were kind enough to let me spend the night.

The next morning, after the streets had been plowed, I drove over to start shoveling out the driveway – a monumental chore, given that it was maybe a hundred yards long. I trudged through the snow, grabbed the snow shovel I kept by the door, and started in on the area in front of the garage.

Three or four hours later, I had managed to clear only a fairly small space. I was tired and discouraged and freezing, so I gave up and went back to my future in-laws’ house to rest. The next morning, I knew this stuff wasn’t melting any time soon, so I drove back over to the house.

When I got there, I was astonished to see that the fellow I was house-sitting for was there, clearing the driveway himself. He was pushing this big, red Toro® snow blower, making a mini-blizzard of his own.

As I walked up, he waved and shouted, “I saw you started shoveling out the drive. Why didn’t you use the snow blower?”

I had a snow blower?

Unknown to me, he had ordered a snow blower just a few days earlier. It had been delivered while I was at the office the day of the snow storm. I had struggled for hours, on the verge of myocardial infarction, shoveling snow from in front of the garage door, when all the time a brand-new, top-of-the-line Toro® snow blower was sitting right behind that door, all gassed up and ready to go.

It’s the story of my life. Well, the story of my Christian life anyway.

I’m always struggling to shovel out the driveway, trying to clear the snow drifts and finish a job that’s just too big for me. I’ve got bills to pay. I’ve got messes to clean up (most of them my own making). I’ve got “church work” to do. I’m huffing and puffing, straining my limits – and all the time a brand-new Toro® snow blower is sitting on the other side of the door, all gassed up and ready to go.

Isaiah scolds me: “Have you never heard or understood? Don’t you know that the Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth? He never grows faint or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to those who are tired and worn out; he offers strength to the weak. Even youths will become exhausted, and young men will give up. But those who wait on the Lord will find new strength. They will fly high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will shovel and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:28-31 NLT … well, mostly)

I’m always forgetting that “God’s weakness is far stronger than the greatest of human strength.” (1 Corinthians 1:25 NLT) I need to be reminded, “Your heavenly Father already knows all your needs, and he will give you all you need from day to day if you live for him and make the Kingdom of God your primary concern.” (Matthew 6:32-33 NLT)

Now there’s a New Year’s resolution worth keeping.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Christian life, Current events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

