Some basics

My wife, Cheryl, and I live near Nashville, Tenn. We’ve been married almost 26 years now. Our daughter, Megan, lives in St. Louis with her husband, William. She’s in physical therapy school at Washington University. Our son, Graham, is living at home and looking for a foothold in the world. We’re helping with a new church that’s being started northeast of Nashville, Peace Community Church.

I’ve worked in journalism all my career. Some of it has been with newspapers, some with magazines, most of it with Christian publications and organizations. I was managing editor at the Arkansas Baptist Newsmagazine for several years, and news editor at the International Mission Board for most of the 10 years I worked there. I’ve written articles for most of the publications in Southern Baptist life. A lot of it has appeared in Baptist Press, and I’ve also written commentaries for the apologetics section of Lifeway Christian Resources’ site. In December 2004, I went to work as news and editorial director for Saddleback Church and the Purpose Driven Network. Now I’m self employed, doing contract writing and editing for a wide range of ministry organizations. I’ve written several short books, including Proof Beyond Reasonable Doubt, Divorcing Christ, and God’s Revolution.

I graduated from Oklahoma Baptist University in 1977 with a degree in philosophy and political science. I did a master’s degree in journalism at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and took some classes at Southern Seminary. I also took a few doctoral seminars at the University of Chicago divinity school and had a graduate fellowship at the Poynter Institute for Media Studies.

I enjoy dialogue with thoughtful people who are trying to follow Jesus in a complicated world  or with those who have questions about the Jesus thing and want to understand what it’s really all about. I’ve been following Jesus more than 45 years. He’s the only one who can make sense out of life.

About Mark Kelly

Jesus follower, Bible reader, husband/father/son/brother/uncle, rider, hiker, snapshooter
This entry was posted in Personal stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

